A Picture is Worth 1000 megabytes

Do your kids grab your phone all the time?  Mine do.  It is a source of endless fascination for them.  I’m not sure if they’re entranced by the idea that I actually have friends who want to talk to me or if it’s the shiny red cover or if it’s just the nature of children to be interested by anything their parents own.

For the last few weeks, the phone has been displaying a “memory full” message.  I just ignored it because I have found that is the best course of action to take with technology.  If I don’t understand it, I don’t worry about it because eventually some techno-geek will pick up my phone and fix it for me without being asked.  That’s why it pays to befriend a few techno-geeks!

Anyway, today the phone started this intermittent ringing noise; apparently, it was not happy with me for ignoring its message so it decided to step up its campaign.  Every five minutes, a shrill ring would issue forth, letting me know it was in the car with me and its memory was full.  I guess it was the techno equivalent of a child screaming “I Gotta Go Now!!!”  Finally I picked it up and attempted to solve “The Mystery Of The Memory Full Message”. 

The logical place to start was with the camera application.  Photos take up memory; even I know that.  I clicked over to the photo album and stared in shock.  Mystery solved.  I had over 80 photos and they were consuming 97% of my available memory.

But I never take photos with my camera; I only learned how to use the camera two months ago.  The only reason the phone has one is because you can’t buy just a plain phone anymore.  I have voluntarily taken about three pictures with it, so someone else has been snapping photos.  Here is a sampling of some of the photos I proceeded to delete:

Three random pictures of people I don’t know at all; about twenty pictures of blackness; several pictures of the goddess’s left eye; three pictures of her bottom lip; five extreme close-up shots of John’s nostrils (thankfully empty!); and several side shots of Amy tossing her hair coquettishly.

I took none of these photos.  Ok, I might have taken the blackness photos.  The camera button is on the side of my stupid phone so I could conceivably be pressing it accidentally and taking pictures of the inside of the phone.  But there is no explanation for the pictures of complete strangers. 

And no logical explanation for my son’s fascination with his own nostrils other than he is a boy and boys are weird that way.  I am considering printing a series of them and having them framed.  I mean, if someone can cash in on a dead shark by calling it art, I ought to be able to make some money off of a montage of my kid’s nostrils!  Let’s call it “Portrait of the depravity of youth with too much access to technology”.  Or something like that!  I will do a similar series with the goddess’s eye shots.

I managed to delete about thirty of the pictures before I got sick of the process.  I got rid of most of the black shots, all of the nostril and eye shots and the extremely blurry ones.  I saved the strangers so I can interrogate my children as to the possible identity of them.  One sure did look a LOT like Elvis!! 

7 Comments

  1. Gina
    Posted November 13, 2007 at 9:33 pm | Permalink

    Is that when you found the picture of Anastasia and her newly missing tooth?

  2. Teensy
    Posted November 13, 2007 at 10:28 pm | Permalink

    That’s why my phone is one thing, a phone! It’s only thing techno that it does, that I love, is that it vibrates when I want it to. That way I can answer it in loud places. Go figure, a phone that actually is a phone. I think I will market it and make lots of money!!

  3. Mojo
    Posted November 14, 2007 at 12:51 am | Permalink

    I am with Teensy. I also do not yet own one of those razor thin, new-fangled “phones” on steroids. I am terribly trend-less and I suppose I should muster some amount of feigned embarrassment when I dare to use my phone in public. EXCEPT…it is a PHONE, people! Not a camera-cook-my-dinner-send-an-email-surf-the-net-sci-fi-contraption! 🙂

    I have also said if hubby and I just manufactured PHONES that ring when someone wishes to speak with you and you say, “Hello?” (what a concept!), there would be a HUGE market out there clamoring to purchase the product! Talk with your hubby and let’s get going on a prototype! We’ll split the take!

    Wait, I already own JUST the thing!

    Why, yes…I believe it’s the PHONE I currently have in my purse!

    I positively dread the day it finally goes kaput.

    *Sigh.*

  4. Teensy
    Posted November 14, 2007 at 6:21 am | Permalink

    Mojo, we are a rare and dying breed. I love my phone!!! It rings ( and vibrates) and I answer it. What a concept. And I’m not embarrassed!!! I embrace it!! B/c it always has a signal, mostly, and it works!

  5. Gina
    Posted November 14, 2007 at 6:54 am | Permalink

    Guys, I fought tooth and nail not to get a new phone. The kids at school would laugh and say what’s that when I pulled out my old (6 years) phone. But when hubby changed service plans I had no choice. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve hung up on Jennifer because my finger has pressed a button it shouldn’t have. But I am getting used to always having a camera. It’s kind of nice. Won’t use anything else on the phone, but I do like the camera.

  6. Kiki
    Posted November 14, 2007 at 7:22 am | Permalink

    Mine doesn’t have a camera either. I think it was the last one you could get from Cingular without a phone. Of course, I wil be forced to give in and get a phone with a camera when this one finally breaks down after being dropped 800 times. ecause they don’t make any other kind. I’d probably still have the other phone I had before this one if I hadn’t run it over with my van one day at our beloved blogger’s house while loading 15 children into my van to go swimming summer before last! I’ve noticed some of the lights that illuminate the keypad no longer work. I’d really like a new phone, actually.

    Isn’t there some was to “delete all” of the photos, instead of going through them individually?

  7. Nancy S
    Posted November 14, 2007 at 8:21 am | Permalink

    My phone is full of pictures of Amy, but they are all of her full face. She and her friends (teenage girls)take pictures of themselves doing a sideways peace sign. I don’t get it, but I periodically hear her phone or my phone clicking away, and I can tell she’s taking more photos. However, I must admit that the camera did come in handy. My dog was listed as a boxer/terrier mix on the adoption papers from the humane society, and the apartments don’t allow boxers. Amy ran out to the car, got her camera phone, and showed the property manager pictures of our cute, sweet, innocent, non-boxer dog, and we were in!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

