What’s On Your Book Shelf??

I really am superior to everyone else when it comes to performing heroic acts of idiocy.  I keep thinking one day I will wake up and overnight I will have been transformed into a competent adult.  So far, though, this has not happened and I remain hopelessly inept at everyday living.

Last week, I got a Shelfari invitation from Anne Glamore over at Tales From My Tiny Kingdom.  I am an avid reader.  I am in three different book groups and I read all the time.  So the Shelfari thing appealed to me because I can keep track of what I’ve read.  I can also wow others with the breadth of my literary accomplishments.  I just have to make sure I leave off the bodice rippers! 

I immediately joined and started exploring the site.  I clicked on the Friends tab and the site invited me to enter my email address so I could see which of my friends were already using Shelfari.  Right about here, the cautious and wise person would have said “no thank you” and hit the back button on the browser.

But me, I was as giddy as a child.  More reading friends??  More people to pester via internet??  My password was entered in the blink of an eye and there was my address book. 

Now being the brain surgeon I am, I saw the first two names and coincidentally, it was the people I was going to invite anyway.  So I hit SEND.  And logged off the internet and forgot about it.

Twenty minutes later, my phone rang.  It was an acquaintance who almost never calls me.  “Hey,” she said, “If I click on this link, will my computer blow up?”

“Whaaaaat?” I asked in confusion.

“This Shelfari thing,” she said.

Now I’m not the sharpest tool in the shed, but I’m not stupid either.  I realized immediately what had happened.

“OH SHIT,” I said and ran to the computer and booted it up.  Sure enough, there were twenty emails already, regarding the Shelfari invite.  It turns out that all email addresses are pre selected by Shelfari, and you have to scroll all the way down to the bottom to DE-select them.  I sort of missed that step!

I don’t know how your email works, but mine keeps every email address to which I have ever sent a message.  Well over 200 invites went out, many to people I don’t even know.  The Juliette Low Birthplace, for example, received an invitation from me to join Shelfari.  I am sure they are rushing, even now, to post all of their favorites on Shelfari.  The help desk at AOL got a personal invite, as did the troubleshooting people at Gateway.  I’m only sorry I didn’t have Habib’s personal email address, because I would have sent him one too!

It doesn’t end there.  Oh no, the humiliation has to be dragged out even further.  Shelfari sent a helpful NUDGE to all those innocent people today, reminding them to sign up and be my friend.  How pathetic does this make me, that a random computer site is begging people to befriend me??  I got a few confused responses today, from people wondering just who in the hell I am, one very crabby response and several favorable ones from people I DON’T KNOW!!!

To all of them, I sent a heartfelt apology, explaining that the medication I am taking to treat my recently diagnosed brain tumor makes me confused and prone to error.  I promised them all that I will never forward anything again without first running it by my hospice nurse, my therapist, and my parole officer.

So join Shelfari!!!  Why the Hell not???  Just make sure you don’t invite half the free world to join with you!

11 Comments

  1. Posted October 1, 2007 at 7:40 pm | Permalink

    And I felt all special, getting an invite from you! ~sniff~

    Now to find out I’m just one of 200+. Goodbye self esteem….

  2. dailydiatribes
    Posted October 1, 2007 at 8:25 pm | Permalink

    No, you were one of the original two!! I really did plan to send it to you because of your blog on books you were reading/needed to read!! So I hope your self esteem will shoot back up!! You were one of the chosen; everyone else who reads this was one of the 200!!!

  3. Mojo
    Posted October 1, 2007 at 10:03 pm | Permalink

    Just for the record, I wasn’t bothered by the invite AT ALL, but I’ll admit to being puzzled. 🙂 After all, I reasoned, you know I am not that much of a reader. I go in spurts – -sometimes I’ll read quite a bit, then I’ll take a long hiatus! No matter what, I do not read as much as you, and I grant you, that is not such a good thing.

    However, I did take time to peruse the site, and as I already sent you off-blog, I wondered if you had read that book “We Have to Talk about Kevin.” He is a kid who killed people in his school, just a few days shy of his 16th bday, ostensibly to avoid being charged differently (as an adult?) Sick stuff, in my opinion. And, the mother in the book didn’t want to have a child (right?) and yet she was stuck with this sociopath for a kid, whom I gather she worried was capable of such a heinous crime until the day he actually committed it.

    No wonder this author has no children in real life if she fears hers will be a mass murdering sociopath!

    As I said, sounds like a disturbing read to me. No, thanks. There is enough real-life tragedy out there we have to hear and read about in the news each day. I can’t find leisure value in reading fictional accounts of such things when there are other things with which I could fill my mind.

    I’ll concede an initial interest in the plot of “Kevin.” However, if I read it, I know I would be left feeling very icky. Yep, just plain icky.

  4. Nancy S
    Posted October 2, 2007 at 7:10 am | Permalink

    I read a lot, but only for fun. I don’t read anything serious because reading is my form of escape. I didn’t mind getting the invitation, but I doubt any of the junk I read will be on the list — I haven’t had time to browse it yet. Some of my favorites are “The Cat Who…” series by Lillian Jackson Braun, for example. However, the main character in those books does read classics and listen to classical music, so maybe I’m not a hopeless case.

  5. Posted October 2, 2007 at 7:42 am | Permalink

    Jennifer, is adding the address of everyone you send an email to into your address book your choice, or is that just how your email program is set up? If you use Outlook Express I can explain how you can change that.

    If you’d like for me to do that, go to http://www.doctoriq.com/contact1.htm and leave me a message and I’ll get back to you and not even charge for my services. 🙂

  6. Teensy
    Posted October 2, 2007 at 7:54 am | Permalink

    I feel honored that I was number “two”! Yeah right. But that sounds like something I would do so don’t feel bad. : )

  7. Kiki
    Posted October 2, 2007 at 8:07 am | Permalink

    Hey Mojo! Coincidentally, we have read the book, We Need to Talk About Kevin–and it was an extremely disturbing, but very well written book-well worth reading. In fact, maybe everyone should read it–kind of an argument about why you need to be a parent to your children and not their best friends! You should reserve judgement on the book and author until you actually read it, because although it is a somewhat unhappy book, it was so well done, and really one of the best books I’ve read this year–and I read a lot of books. Not that I’m rushing to re-read it or anything–definitely a downer. The story is actually more about the child’s life than his actual ultimate crime. Check out my Shelfari–I’m Kiki68!

  8. Bandaide Lady
    Posted October 2, 2007 at 12:42 pm | Permalink

    Should have read this first. Altho (I was told this was not proper way toI spell although …… proper my backside!!!) After racking my poor little almost totally used up pea sized brain to figure out how to post books, etc. I find out it was a mistake. And was feeling so special!!! I am gonna list every book have ever read, and believe me in my lifetime that is a lot, might even make up a few titles, if that can be done, just to confuse the masses. As far as this being sent to everyone in the lower 48 that you had ever contacted via email, I think is so funny. Just imagine the head scratching and looks of bewilderment!

  9. dailydiatribes
    Posted October 2, 2007 at 12:59 pm | Permalink

    I HATE SHELFARI!!! I can’t win!! The people I sent it to are mad and the ones who found out I sent it to everyone are mad!! The gods in heaven must be laughing!!!

    Mojo, “We Need to Talk About Kevin” was one of the best books I have read in years. Definitely disturbing, but so well-written and contrived you are left feeling satisfied. Not for the faint of heart, but an incredible book. It does what good literature is supposed to do; it makes you think hard about all pre-conceived notions regarding the mother/child relationship and the nature vs nurture dichotomy. Truly amazing.

  10. Dr. Renee
    Posted October 2, 2007 at 2:20 pm | Permalink

    Heehee, Jennifer. I barely noticed that little wrinkle at Shelfari when I first logged in, but INCREDIBLY, I realized what it was and did the decent and honest thing and deselected in time. Oh, but it could have been me sending it to the world very easily!

  11. Kiki
    Posted October 2, 2007 at 7:05 pm | Permalink

    Renee–I didn’t fall for it either–poor Jennifer! But it could easily happen!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

