Why Am I Such a Doofus???

Some people have an infinite capacity for love.  Others have an infinite capacity for goodness.  Still others possess endless amounts of energy and charm.  Then there’s me.  I have an infinite, inexhaustible supply of stupidity.

I am really not being too hard on myself.  I am a total f***-up when it comes to certain things.  The biggest bone of contention between my husband and myself ultimately boils down to my cavalier attitude towards details.  I am a leetle too laid back when it comes to things like money and saving and, well, details.  I am definitely a grasshopper.  I would rather play all day and worry about tomorrow when it gets here.

So details are not my strong point.  And when we made our reservation for Savannah, instead of waiting for the official confirmation from the girl scout people for our program at the Birthplace (of Juliette Low, founder of scouts, always capitalized and spoken reverently!), I simply guessed at the amount we owed and got a cashier’s check from our troop treasurer so I would be ready.

A month later, the stupid confirmation came, and of course my number was wrong.  And the Birthplace does not issue refunds or credit.  So  I put the whole thing on my credit card and tore up the check.  Did you get that?  I TORE IT UP.

Last night, I got an email from the troop treasurer, who just realized I HAD TORN UP THE CHECK!!!  “You can’t tear up a cashier’s check,” she moaned via e-mail.  “I paid for it.”  Um, Lucy, a little late to tell me that now!

I didn’t know you couldn’t tear up a cashier’s check.  I thought it was a regular check!  I didn’t know!!!!!!  And it was for $500!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Auggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!

So now I am going to have to go to the bank and offer to perform sexual favors to see if I can get our money back.  Because I am stupid.  But I will tell you right now, for $500, I WILL NOT SWALLOW!!!!!!! 

7 Comments

  1. Kiki
    Posted August 16, 2007 at 8:52 am | Permalink

    I forgive you. God forgives you. The Girl Scouts (the actual girl Girls Scouts!)don’t even know. I promise not to tell any mothers of GSs. Or your husband. However, it would be nice if you could recover the money. Just spit it out! Is the bank manager cute?

    Only kidding, don’t do anything like that! Just beg and plead complete and total ignorance. Bring pictures of our cute little Girl Scouts and tell him you’ll get free cookies for lfe if he will help you this one time!

  2. Kiki
    Posted August 16, 2007 at 8:52 am | Permalink

    Oh, thanks for posting. Finally!

  3. Nancy McCrite
    Posted August 16, 2007 at 9:02 am | Permalink

    I am putting off back to school Scout night. I wonder if I could get kicked out for not having one? Surely the bank manager will take pity on a Girl Scout leader. That sounds like something I would do!

  4. Nancy S
    Posted August 16, 2007 at 12:11 pm | Permalink

    Good luck getting the money back. I think Cashier’s checks say “not replaced if lost or stolen”, because they are like cash.

  5. Kiki
    Posted August 16, 2007 at 2:53 pm | Permalink

    My dad said they would probably have a record and would likely try to help you, if that is any consolation. Of course, you know my dad is a wealth of good information…ha ha

  6. Posted August 16, 2007 at 3:11 pm | Permalink

    Take the torn pieces of the check with you if you still have them. That will prove you didn’t use it. Good luck!

  7. Posted August 16, 2007 at 3:33 pm | Permalink

    Good luck getting your money back. This soooo sounds like something that my hubby would do. I am the anal one here and he is Mr. Laid Back, worry about it later. However, it seems like you are beating yourself up a bit, which is something he never does.

    And I wouldn’t swallow for $500 either!

    On a different note, I just wanted to say I’m so glad I stumbled onto our blog. I so enjoy your posts!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

